Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
July 3rd to July 8th


  • Mobile App

    A mobile application was developed for this edition of WPSC • 2016.
    The app is available for iOS and Android platforms and may be downloaded from iTunes Store and Google Play

    Apple iOS Android

About The Congress

The initiative to organize World Planning School Congresses came up with the formation of a global network by national and regional associations of planning schools and institutes around the world in 2001. Since then this network, the GLOBAL PLANNING EDUCATION NETWORK - GPEAN assigns the organization of each World Congress to one or more schools of one of its members. In five and five years, this event aims to bring together scholars and professionals from all continents to present experiences, discuss proposals and critical analysis and encourage a debate on the current planning problems in different parts of the world.

In 2016, the IV WPSC will be held in Rio de Janeiro. As responsible for this edition of WPSC, the GPEAN designated the Institute of Urban and Regional Research and Planning - IPPUR – at the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro – UFRJ -, a member of the Brazilian Association of Research and Graduate Studies in Urban and Regional Planning – ANPUR with the collaboration of colleagues of the Graduate Programs in Geography of the Federal Universities Fluminense and Minas Gerais (UFF and UFMG), of the UFRJ Graduate Program in Urbanism and of the UFMG Centre of Regional Development and Planning (CEDEPLAR).

A GPEAN Steering Committee composed of three members from three different continents accompanies, guides and supports the work of the Local Organization Commission.


The 2008 financial crisis was born in the North, where itself seemed to manifest most acutely, but ended up having reflexes in the Global South. Caused, there as here, in the cities a growing malaise as shown by the different protest movements that have sprung in recent years in the squres of Taiwan, New York, Singapore, Athens, Rio de Janeiro, Tunis, Cairo, Geneva or Barcelona and many other cities worldwide.


Organizing Committee

The Local Organizing Committee is composed of the following faculty members:

  • Rainer Randolph as CHAIR – Urban and Regional Research and Planning Institute IPPUR/ UFRJ
  • Orlando Alves dos Santos Jr. as Co-CHAIR - IPPUR / UFRJ
  • Pedro de Novais Lima Jr. - Director IPPUR / UFRJ
  • Valéria Lopes Ribeiro - IPPUR / UFRJ
  • Denise Barcellos Pinheiro Machado - PROURB / UFRJ
  • Ester Limonad – Graduate Program in Geography / UFF
  • Heloisa Soares de Moura Costa - Graduate Program in Geography / UFMG
  • Geraldo Magela Costa - Graduate Program in Geography / UFMG
  • Roberto Luís de Melo Monte-Mór - CEDEPLAR / UFMG
The Steering Committee of GPEAN monitors, guides and supports the work of the Local Organizing Committee; the members are:
  • David Amborski as chair - Ryerson University, Toronto / Canada
  • Alison Todes – University Wits, Johannesburg / South Africa
  • Gerhard Schimak – Technical University of Vienna / Austria

Scientific Committee

  • Klaus Frey - Federal University of ABC (Brazil)
  • Simin Davoudi – Newcastle University (England)
  • Ayda Eraydin – Middle East Technical University (Turkey)
  • Utpal Sharma – Nirma University (India)
  • Babatunde Agbola – Ibadan University (Nigeria)
  • Maria Lúcia Refinetti Rodrigues Martins – University of São Paulo (Brazil)
  • Luciana Lago – Federal University of Rio de Janeiro (Brazil)
  • Edward Blakely -
  • Mai Nguyen – University of North Carolina Chapel Hill (USA)
  • Luciana de Oliveira Royer - University of São Paulo (Brazil)
  • Garth Klein – University of the Witwatersrand (South Africa)
  • Sukumar Ganapati – Florida International University (USA)
  • Ângela Gordilho – Federal University of Bahia (Brazil)
  • Andrea Frank – Cardiff University (Wales)
  • Daniel Inkoom, Kwame Nkrumah – University of Science and Technology (Ghana)
  • João Rovati – Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (Brazil)
  • Benjamin Davy - TU Dortmund (Germany)
  • Gail Dubrow – University of Minnesota (USA)
  • Márcio Valença – Federal University of Rio Grando do Norte (Brazil)
  • Jean Hillier – RMIT University (Australia)
  • Vanessa Watson – University of Cape Town (South Africa)
  • Flávio de Lemos Carsalade – Federal University of Minas Gerais (Brazil)
  • Izabela Mironowicz – Wroclaw University of Technology (Poland)
  • Zeynep Enlil – Yildiz Technical University (Turkey)
  • Fernanda Sanchez – Federal University Fluminense (Brazil)
  • Sebnem Gokcen – Docuz Eylul University (Turkey)
  • Andrew Seidel – University of Northern British Columbia (Canada)
  • Rachel Coutinho – Federal University of Rio de Janeiro (Brazil)
  • Carolyn Whitzman -
  • Shelagh McCartney – Ryerson University (Canada)
  • Benny Schvarsberg - University of Brasília (Brazil)
  • Rachelle Alterman – Technion Israel Institute of Technology (Israel)
  • Dawn Jourdan – University of Oklahoma (USA)
  • Ana Claudia Cardoso - Federal University of Pará (Brazil)
  • Richard Sliuzas – University of Twente (Netherlands)
  • Vivek Shandas – Portland State University (USA)
  • Iraildes Caldas Torres – Fedaral University of Amazõnia (Brazil)
  • Sylvie Paré – UQAM (Canada)
  • Inez Sanchez De Madariaga – San Pablo University (Spain)
  • Pedro Vasconcelos Maia do Amaral – Federal University of Minas Gerais (Brazil)
  • Andreas Voight – TU Wien (Austria)
  • Joy Ogbazi – University of Nigeria (Nigeria)
  • Simaia do Socorro Sales das Mercês – Federal University of Pará (Brazil)
  • Ela Babalik-Sutcliffe – Middle East Technical University (Turkey)
  • Bhuiyan M. Alam – University of Toledo (USA)
  • Adriana Dorfman – Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul
  • Sergio Peña (ALEUP) - El Colegio de la Frontera Norte (Mexico)
  • Didier Paris - Université de Lille 1 (France)
  • Mariana Fix - University of Campinas (Brazil)
  • Pantelis Skayannis – University of Thessaly (Greece)
  • Christophe Demazière - Université de Tours (France)
  • Jeroen Johannes Klink - Federal University of ABC (Brazil)
  • Richard Nunes – Reading University (England)
  • Bruno Barroca - Université Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée (France)
  • Patrícia Kegel - Regional University of Blumenau (Brazil)
  • Alessandro Balducci - Politecnico di Milano (Italy)
  • Shahed Khan (ANZAPS) - Curtin University (Australia)
  • Isa de Oliveira Rocha – State University of Santa Catarina
  • Wayne Caldwell – University of Guelph (Canada)
  • Giancarlo Cotella - Politecnico di Torino (Italy)